The Perfect Storm – Part II: MTR Murder

duhh444

bleaahh

I’m on the verge of tears by the time I reach the platform. I’m trying to listen to the new Cantopop Hits of the 80’s & 90’s CD, but every Wong, Ip and Lee is buzzing in my ear…yelling into phones, bellowing at each other or munching sausage bread like a jackal with a mouth full of sap.

americanpyscho11

Dudley Dawson shows off his latest acquisition…The Very Best of Cantopop Volume 1. The whole album has a clear, crisp sound and a new sheen of consummate pedestrianism that really gives the songs a big boost.

I make my way to the very end of the platform because there’s fewer people there. In Hong Kong, people are so damn lazy they’d rather pile into the mid section of the train with a whole smorgasbord of dipshittery, than walk another 30 seconds for a more comfortable ride.

hqdefault

Dudley Dawson attempts to drown out the sound of a hundred boorish phone calls.

When I get to the end of the platform, I put on my dark protective sunglasses. There’s a moment of sheer panic when the train arrives and I realize the last car is jam packed. I hit the volume controls, turn up the Cantopop and hope for the best. The doors open and half the people empty out. Relief washes over me in an awesome wave. There’s even seats available, so I take one.

rodsj65cmy3k8d5yukig

…what the…

aaaaaaaaa

psssssssssss

They-Live

…fuck…??

Out of the corner of my eye I see two middle aged, dreary looking women approaching from the left. They’ve seen the empty seat next to me and both make a play for it, but a drearier, older woman swoops from the right and beats them both. She thuds down, plastic bags full of cabbage and radish swinging from each arm. She’s on the phone trying to explain something to someone. She’s loud. She’s frantic. Where the fuck did she get all that cabbage and radish at this time of morning?

duh9

I like to take out a pencil and a notepad in situations like this, lean forward, nod along to the loud, rude, annoying conversation I’m being assaulted with and jot down notes. Should we be getting all this down, dude?  Is any of this gonna be on the test?? And he looks at me like I’m the bad guy!

duh7

Yell, yell, yell, scream, scream, scream. I’m a thoughtless lax slob who refuses social responsibility because that kind of self discipline’s just too hard. It’s much easier to do what everyone else does and just do what I want, yell when I want, scream when I want…and then blame you if you’ve got a problem with it.

Mercifully, the cabbage & radish woman ends her phone conversation pretty quickly and I ease back the volume on my Cantopop compilation. I do keep half an eye on her though, because I know what’s coming. Sure enough, there it is. She can’t sit still…she whips the phone out and I watch her dim sum fingers dial 6 numbers in a row, desperately trying to get someone on the phone…anyone. But she can’t do it. Nobodies answering. I focus on the book in my hand and start to read.

…tap…tap…tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap…

What in fuck is that tapping noise? I look to my right and the old woman’s tapping the living shit out of an ipad. She’s playing Candy Crush or something. I can’t not hear it. I can’t not see it out the corner of my eye. Opposite me there’s a plain looking woman doing her makeup. It’s mildly disgusting watching her smear paste around her gaping eyeballs while she contorts her sallow face in a small pocket mirror. I get a good look up her nostrils. Fuck. I look away. The guy on my left is playing Candy Crush. He looks totally focused, completely engrossed and highly challenged. The man next to him is holding two phones. He’s looking into one and yelling into the other. Opposite him, there’s a thick-set woman unconscious…mouth wide open, head titled back like a sideshow clown ready for a ping pong ball. The man next to her keeps screeching “wai” into his phone over and over again. He’s horrific.

duh3

“Why you look at me? Not your business! Mind your business while I’m add my makeup on…

duh4

…is none of your business…*scowl scowl scowl*…

duh5

…you fuck…you stupid…your problem…mind your business you stupid fucker fuck you go to hell….” – Listen you self-absorbed cretin….this is NOT rocket science. It’s NOT complicated. If you’re so staggeringly oblivious that you think it’s OK to sit directly opposite me making a public spectacle of yourself…prepare to be stared at…expect to be laughed at…and count on being photographed and made an example of on Hong Kong Sucks. Don’t look at me like I’m the bad guy. I’m the one sitting here keeping myself to myself. You’re the moron doing your toiletries on a public train. 

IMG_1367

Winnie Chan attempts to make herself less ordinary…in her private bathroom…

10362247_833349223361620_167909935_n

Hong Kong fast pace OK…Hong Konger must use the time OK…not your business OK

rgryhyhrhyr

Pull a hat down over your face or something, fucking hell.

I need space. I give up my seat and head to the standing area at the very end of the train. There’s a woman in the corner trimming her nails and dropping the clippings at her feet. I manage to make eye-contact. There’s no sign of embarrassment though…she couldn’t look more indifferent if she tried. Very Hong Kong. In the other corner there’s a man on his phone…monumental in volume. He’s slapping a rolled up newspaper on the wall to emphasize whatever it is he’s screaming about. My ears! The Cantopop does nothing!

11410_img_0106_xl1-e1411660483847

These are the toe and finger nails I collected in a single morning commute last week. I’ll be presenting them to Carrie Lam at a luncheon this Thursday.

serd (9)

Make yourself at home, man.

They-Live

…what the…ffffuck…???

frfrfrfrf

Wont that be a nice surprise for the janitor 😉

guangzhousubwayshitter

Just a regular guy

I look down at my feet…someone’s spilled a drink. Oh wait a minute is that…it is. A mainland women’s helping her mewling cabbage urinate into an empty bottle of Watson’s water. There’s too much urine and not enough bottle. It’s textbook play from the mainlander though. She thinks that’s what you do. The girl next to me is slobbering all over a piece of bread still in its plastic bag. Saliva strands trail from her mouth to the plastic. I can hear her chewing. She’s watching something inane on her phone with the sound turned up.

taxidriver

Are you talking to me? Are you talking to me? What’s that? You’re on the phone? Sounds like you’re talking to me. Are you talking to me? I can hear you three carriages down. Who the fuck are you talking to?

I slowly take the lighter fluid from my pocket. I know what I have to do. Listen you fuckers, you screwheads. Here’s a man who will not take it anymore. A man who’ll stand up against the scum, the cunts, the dogs, the filth, the shit. The idea has been growing in my brain for some time. It’s time to wash away the garbage and trash…

…there’s a flash, then screams a couple of carriages down. I smell smoke…burning. Somebody down there has passed the point of no return. I can just make out a figure. He’s on fire. They’re all on fire. It’s pandemonium. I slip the lighter fluid back into my pocket and take out my phone…

Screenshot_20170625-110530

It’s like watching a train smash or something

ab40eece-ef8d-11e6-8960-2c6b8565de23_1280x720

Say cheese……..cheeeeeeze that’s hot!!!!!!!!!!!

This post brought to you by…

serd (4)

The MTR Corporation Logic and Fair Practice Division…

singapore-metro-perv_facebook-uma-mageshwari_759

…Apple’s new Peeping Sanjay app…

hong-kong-residents-protest-harass-mainland-tourists-06

…hand luggage…

maxresdefault

…breakfast menus at 11:03am…

They-Live

…Rowdy Roddy Piper…

aliensamonguscover

…Central, Hong Kong…

20170315_161127

…the yellow jacket…

20170225_174434

…check-in luggage…

20160916_063832

…having a great time with friends…

20160916_063841

…in picturesque settings…

9AK46

…the kooky umbrella movement…

472149_4029051283036_1184213819_33869209_22748554_o

…fair play for parallel traders…

20160914_162912

…the Dudley Dawson Division of Logic and Fair Play…make a public spectacle of yourself…expect your public spectacle to be documented.

americanpsycho2

…and making reservations at Cafe de Coral.

Later dudes!

 

 

This entry was posted in Hong Kong. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Perfect Storm – Part II: MTR Murder

  1. Choi says:

    Yeah man these people that are shitting and pissing in the mtr like wtf get out of here!

  2. Buck says:

    I reckon Dudley is annoyed by the shouting the most. It’s my biggest complaint in HK. The fucking shouting.

  3. Buck says:

    Let me rephrase that: it’s the noise, the fucking noise. The shouting, garlic chopping, door slamming, boom box on the bike playing, snorting and throat clearing, speaker phoning, “I cant handle a quiet walk in the park” body slapping, foot scuffing, piano playing, trumpet blowing, noodle slurping,hole drilling……noise……
    They cant handle silence because silence would force them to reflect on their sad, miserable lives.

  4. Dystopian Chan says:

    Ok, I think we can do a poll.

    What do you hate the most about Hong Kong?

    (A) the yelling
    (B) the staring
    (C) umbrella poking at your eyes
    (D) the sneezing and coughing at your face
    (E) second hand smoke
    (F) pushing and shoving
    (G) luggages rolling on your feet
    (H) 4 year old toddlers crying
    (I) door slamming
    (J) the psychopaths at the workplace
    (K) the fact that they treat dogs like humans but humans like dogs

    Please vote for three items only

  5. Anonymous says:

    All of the above. But if I had to pick only 3, I’d choose a, i & j.
    Chinese in particular are sick fuckers with no souls. They just do not care about anything but themselves. Their fake culture and whatever money they have cannot save them. Fuckers, they all are!

  6. A, J and K. Especially K.

    There’s nothing more pitiable than the fawning that goes on over Hong Kong’s rats on leashes, while thousands of the old starve in cages and domestic helpers are treated like slaves.

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: benighted cunts.

  7. Buck says:

    Is it just me, or do the locals walk really SLOWLY?

  8. Don Quijote says:

    Ahhh, the smell of Durian, dry fish and compost from the mini bus system. The fuckers that see you standing to be picked up but as there’s no local waiting just continue oblivious of my swearing in multiple languages the name of the cunt of a mother that shitted them. Mini bus selection of refined ranting Hong Kong style. Please Dudley!

  9. Don Quijote says:

    The locals don’t walk, they move around like mindless minions, zombie like creatures that have no common sense of the space they inhabit. True!

  10. Doug says:

    Hmmm,some of it is fair for sure and some I think somethings going on,however that last American Psycho pic, ‘ making reservations at cafe decoral’ …. priceless!!

  11. the_travelling_trini says:

    I haven’t laughed so hard in a long time. THANK YOU for your writing. Don’t ever stop. Unless of course you get yourself the fuck out of Hong Kong.

  12. AlmostAnonymous says:

    Damn, so true.

    Just found your blog. Going to enjoy reading it.

  13. Cat's Eye says:

    You know you have arrived when your helper is up at 6:00am drying off your Mazda minivan…

  14. Anonymous says:

    Correction Cat’s Eye, when your helper is drying off your Mazda minivan you know you’re fucked and locked up in this shithole. Good luck on finding a way out.

    You know you have arrived when asshole taxi drivers refuses to take you where you want to go, or just don’t bother to stop for you. You know when you have arrived when you think you can smell something like the sea… but there’s a scent of shit smothering it. You know you have arrived when you’re seating on a bus and the maniac behind you starts screaming top of his/her lungs on the fucking mobile phone, or sneeze, or cough, or burps right behind your ears. You know when you have arrived when you take a filthy table at a fucking tea house to try the fucking ‘Cantonese cuisine’ and the rats around you are spitting everything on the table, and slurping on their fucking noodles like it’s the first food they’ve had in years. You know you have arrived when you walk into the lift of your shithole apartment and the chink fucker next to you is staring at you with an angry demeanour. You know you have arrived when you walk out of your shithole apartment and your fucking chink neighbour walks out at the same time, slums the door (with the force of a fucking bomb exploding), walks straight past you and mutters something in Cantonese (probably saying ‘fuck your mother’)… the list can go on and on… and on. Enjoy your stay!

  15. Buck says:

    and she better remember not to leave any puddles in the car park, or she’ll get a good slapping from the Management Office.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Correcting myself, “slams the door” not slums. Slums are those piles of junk full of pestilence inside called “residential buildings” in HK. Incl. the so called luxury ones. Whenever I think HK apartments, the word slum immediately comes to mind.

  17. Dystopian Chan says:

    “Harvard consistently rated Asian-American applicants lower than others on traits like “positive personality,” likability, courage, kindness and being “widely respected,” according to an analysis of more than 160,000 student records filed Friday by a group representing Asian-American students in a lawsuit against the university.”

    That’s the problems these fuckers have: negative personality, unlikeable, no courage, no kindness and zero respectability.

  18. Anonymous says:

    But those spineless fuckers think that only “academic results” matter. Never mind if you are a complete antisocial cunt, never mind if you don’t give a fuck about integrating, never mind if you are a selfish, arrogant asshole with the social skills of a worm, whose only purpose in life is to make “many money” at any cost, including harassing people and scamming and cheating on the system for your sole selfish advantage. Well fuckers, Harvard has news for you, your “human rights” bullshit doesn’t stick. Your fucking human rights and bias records are worse than shit in your fucking shithole of a country anyways, and as much as you try to cheat your spineless way through the system in the US, there are still people who are not buying into your bullshit, thank Christ! But sadly, many still do (for the sake of extra bucks). I would be really happy if places like Harvard and the Ivy League schools finally decide to turn this fucking table and expose once and for all this abusive scam inflicted on the West by rich and spineless Asian fuckers.

  19. Rejected by Harvard says:

    i had a look at the Wikipedia page on Personality Disorder. I think the page must have been written with Hong Kong in mind.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personality_disorder

  20. A Passenger says:

    MTR passenger ‘bites man’s thumb off’

    A 64-year-old man reportedly had his thumb bitten off during a quarrel over a lack of space on a crowded MTR train on Thursday morning.

    Police said two men were arrested at Mong Kok Station at around 9am over the incident and one man’s “finger was injured”.

    Media reports said the pair started arguing over space in the crowded compartment during the rush hour.

    One of the men reportedly had his left thumb bitten off, while the other, aged 54, suffered injuries to his eyes and face.

    The pair were taken to Kwong Wah Hospital for treatment. They were also arrested on suspicion of fighting in a public place.

    Some reports said the severed thumb was found in the carriage when the train reached Central. But police were not able to confirm this.
    http://news.rthk.hk/rthk/en/component/k2/1402875-20180621.htm?spTabChangeable=0

  21. Buck says:

    Things escalate VERY quickly in HK. It starts off with shouting (usually statements about having sexual intercourse with your mother), then finger pointing, and then suddenly the kung fu kick. This city is on a knife edge.

    It’s surprising that this type of thing does not happen much more often.

  22. Buck says:

    I’ve been here for many years. About a year ago I started arming myself (purely as a means of self defense). I never dreamed of that years ago. I just don’t feel safe here anymore. HK is appallingly overcrowded, with mental illness rates to match. I’ve taken a defensive view of everything, especially people, traffic, food, and air. Even walking on footpaths isn’t safe, and you could be mowed down by a taxi or bus driver on his phone. Be alert at every moment. No matter how polite you are or how smart you are, you could be the next victim in this sick city.

    Why the fuck am I still here. HK sucks.

  23. A Passenger says:

    We had self immolation. And now we have people chewing other people’s thumb off.

    What could be next for the MTR? indiscriminate acid attack? platform collapse?

  24. Anonymous says:

    A Passenger says:
    June 21, 2018 at 8:38 pm

    Holly fuck! Hong Kong has gotten from bad to worse in the past 20 years, and now well on the way to total insanity. Save yourselves before you get your body parts bitten off or severed by completely insane chinks.

  25. A Passenger says:

    Anonymous says:
    June 24, 2018 at 1:06 am

    “Holly fuck! Hong Kong has gotten from bad to worse in the past 20 years, and now well on the way to total insanity. Save yourselves before you get your body parts bitten off or severed by completely insane chinks.”

    Everybody loves kung fu fighting!!

  26. Anonymous says:

    This guy has risen to celebrity status in the Hong Kong MTR. Completely lost the plot, but probably harmless (although nothing should be taken for granted in this insane fuckhole). I wonder how would he get on with his kung fu fighting inside a packed MTR.

  27. pdwalker says:

    Mr 功夫 (kung fu) sure knows how to maintain his personal space in the MTR.

    I gotta try it!

  28. Anonymous says:

    This blog has died, just like Hong Kong. Good luck to all of you motherfuckers.

  29. smilerjames says:

    Yep. Hong Kong is still a shithole full of ignorant sheisters. No change there then. Thank fuck for the UK!

  30. Anonymous says:

    Hmmm… not so fast smilerjames. UK is going down the same pipe hole (for nothing more than plain idiocy). Nowhere near as bad as HK (yet), but after the stupid Brexit vote (by 52% of ignorant sheisters) the rollercoaster is about to derail, and if there’s no deal with the EU, then the shit will definitely hit the fan… big time. SAD!

  31. Anonymous says:

    The UK? The UK is a totally cucked shithole full of arrogant, immigrant criminals, pro abortion ghouls, homosexual rights perverts and a population in servitude to their corporate oligarch masters

  32. Buck says:

    take out the homosexual rights, and what you have described there is HK.

  33. Buck says:

    This is very Hong Kong:

    A vegetable seller, surnamed Wong, said suppliers had raised prices ahead of the expected storm.

    “Choi sum has surged three times from HK$5 to HK$14 [per catty],” she said.

    But, a shopper surnamed Sui said she would wait before completely stocking up fearing “the vegetables may turn bad”.

  34. Dystopian Chan says:

    Can we have a post on funny names in Hong Kong, please? Here’s mine.

    Never Wong, Face Tse, Happy Wong, Money Chu, Mosquito Chan, Bunny Wang, Fisherman Chen, Funfun Lee and Jewelz Chan

  35. Buck says:

    Yesterday my friend was arguing with her sister about money (and her sister’s name is Money). Kinda funny, I guess.

  36. Dystopian Chan says:

    Just heard this in the news.

    KMB is issuing letters of apology to passengers for the delay in bus services, as evidences which they can show to employers if they arrive late at work.

    This is so Hong Kong.

  37. Carrie Lam's toenails says:

    “These are the toe and finger nails I collected in a single morning commute last week. I’ll be presenting them to Carrie Lam at a luncheon this Thursday.” –

    Ah LOLOLOL

Leave a comment