Just another Hong Kong train announcement…

Now hear this, now…hear…this – I am talking to you train commuters…everyone in this carriage and the next three carriages in either direction from my position. I want you all to know something…nothing really…but I want you all to hear it. I am on the phone. I have a phone…and I am on it. I am talking to people who know me and I know them. I am on a phone talking very loud. Now hear this, in the middle ages I would have been a town crier…hear ye, hear ye…because I can bellow very loudly. You don’t have to do anything. Just sit back during your train ride and listen to me have my phone conversation. It will be loud. You will hear it. If I wasn’t so unbelievably base, I would be able to tell you that when a lizard is cold it finds the sun…and when I am on the train I talk very loudly on my phone.  This is what I do.

All jokes aside…here’s the real thing, although I give this woman about 5 out of 10 for sheer baseness:

.

What can we say about these types of people? Are they free to talk as loud as they want? Am I free to request they keep their voice down? What happens when both freedoms clash? Two rights make a wrong? It’s too complicated to comprehend all that…just like it’s too complicated to understand why people seem so oblivious to others and seem to operate on a level empty of consideration but full of base impulse.

.
base:

a) Having or showing a contemptible, mean-spirited, or selfish lack of human decency.
b) Devoid of high values or ethics: a base, degrading way of life
c) Inferior in value or quality.
 

I don’t think you need to have particularly high values or be of any special quality…I just think you should have a little bit of human decency, as per (a) above. So…why do so many people seem to lack simple human decency?

I think it’s because they’re fuckheads.

Shut the fuck up you stupid old hag. Did you know it took all of my human decency to not get up and smash your phone into a thousand pieces on the train floor and then to laugh in your face while you furrowed your brow in a vain effort to understand what just happened? Did you know I had to dig deep into my supplies of human decency to stop myself from standing in front of your face and bellowing into my phone a highly irritating, blow by blow account of what station I was at, where I would be getting off, what I would buy at the market and what I could see out the window?

You wouldn’t have a clue because you have all the compassion of a lizard.

Here’s some more examples of base people without a clue.

.

This entry was posted in Hong Kong. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just another Hong Kong train announcement…

  1. Cletus says:

    “All your base are belong to us!”

  2. My only complaint is that the above people are not noisy enough. I suppose it is hard to record truly noisy people because camera person needs to cover his/her ears.

Leave a Reply

