Observations about slaves in HK

Let’s talk about slavery in Hong Kong!

Hong Kong people love to buy slaves. By slaves, I mean Filipino, Indonesian and Thai women/ girls who are paid in handfuls of magic beans to work as pack horses, punching bags, sexual abuse victims, cooks, cleaners, launders and general dog’s bodies.

When I first came to Hong Kong I remember stepping into the lift to go to work one morning. Inside the lift were three school kids, their mother and a coat rack. I nodded a quick good morning to the mother and was about to put my coat on the rack when I realised it was a person! The coat rack was a Filipino maid loaded up with 3 schoolbags, umbrellas and a couple of jackets. Strike me down! Why carry your own stuff when you have your very own human mule?

Maids in Hong Kong are on call 24 hours a day, 6 days a week. Sunday is a holiday. So it’s not all bad. Unless it’s Sunday though, they are pretty much chained to a sink, toilet bowl, mop or shopping trolley. You can see them all over the place – in ridiculously crowded, abominably loud supermarkets…in shopping malls so swarmed with people and so deafening it makes you swoon…and on buses and trains so cramped and cruelly noisy you’d smash the emergency exit window and crash and roll to your death just to get out.

Tools of the.............slave....trade?

It’s pretty much out of the frying pan and into the fire when the maid gets home with her bag of chicken feet (dinner HK style). There, she comes into her own as a slave. She’s subservient and invisible. It’s a typical slave/ master scenario. When the master comes home from work there’s slippers at the ready, warm drinking water and a light snack waiting on the table, a perfectly clean house and dinner on the go in the kitchen. From my experience, while there wasn’t exactly any bell ringing at dinner time, there was full table service and a full Chinese dinner from soup to desert and everything in between. It’s pretty lush to have someone on hand in your home who’ll fill your tea cup up as soon as it drops to below half way. Why should you have to do it yourself? That’s crazy.

My co-workers, to a man, express genuine astonishment when I bring my own lunch to work. “You prepare yourself???” they ask, stunned. I think this about sums up the lack of self-sufficiency for a lot of Hong Kong people. If a maid isn’t boiling their noodles or preparing their breakfast, lunch and dinner and putting it under their nose for them, then some restaurant waitress is. Again, why do anything for yourself when a pittance can pay someone else to do it for you?

Up to your elbows in magic beans!

I could write about the co-worker whose maid was raped by 2 Nigerians at an MTR station…but then I’d have to relive that co-worker’s suffering…”What am I going to do? Where am I going to find someone on such short notice to care for my children? How can I find another maid just like thaaaaat?”…but it would just be too depressing. And it would start me thinking about this dog eat dog, cold society where children are put into the hands of migrant workers from birth so that parents can get back into the work force as quickly as possible in order to earn enough credits to pay for and buy slaves and more junk for their postage stamp size houses.

This entry was posted in Hong Kong. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Observations about slaves in HK

  1. gowron says:

    The way my people treat other humans makes me wish they’d hurry up with the stem cells so I can divorce myself of being Chinese. And to think that Hong Kong are the “Civilized” Chinese, that mainlanders is much much worse.

  2. Anonymous says:

    all yr posts r extremely biased and untrue, chicken feets r not usually eaten by chinese. also them look and taste better than your western salami.

  3. foobar says:

    the above comment proves how despite decades of British colonial domination the lobotomized `Hong Kong persons` are still unable to express themselves in an intelligible English

  4. Deadguy says:

    Good lord, I lose my shit every time I read this site.

  5. ATM says:

    Chicken feet is served as a dish in dim sum restaurants (aka “Fung Draow”). Get your facts straight. HKers eat chicken feet regularly. Go to any dim sum restaurant and ask for it and they will have it.
    Do you even live in HK? If you do, how have you never been to dim sum?

  6. aiya says:

    Baby Hands!!!!!

  7. Anonymous says:

    I am ashamed of the fact that we are still practising de facto slavery in Hong Kong, while British has abolished it several hundred years ago. Fucking spoiled people!

  8. HWLC87 says:

    I am sorry that you’ve had to observe such selfish and inhumane treatment of domestic workers in Hong Kong, regardless of how inaccurate and somewhat narrow minded your observations may be. Being from Hong Kong myself, I have to point out that decades of colonial rule has allowed me to express myself succinctly in more than intelligible English.

    Chicken feet – obviously rather unsightly and one wouldn’t and shouldn’t possess an overwhelming desire to consume such delicacies during dinner. I, for one, do not like eating chicken feet. Nonetheless, it is in fact, traditionally, served as Dim Sum. I expect you wouldn’t know what Dim Sum is as you’re too occupied blogging such incoherent garbage to consider trying different cuisines other than your own.

    As you first rightly stated, they are maids; clearly denoting that they are working in Hong Kong as a domestic maid of their own free will. Evidently, they are not slaves, not purchased but employed with a salary which allows them to provide quite a lot to their own families – contrary to the practice and definition of “de facto slavery” and de jure slavery. Additionally, I’ve noted the less than impressive English used in the last comment; we are not “fucking spoiled people”, nor are we SPOILT people either. Less than perfect English can also be demonstrated by Foobar’s comment – needless to say, the ability to express oneself using intelligible English is not solely exclusive to those from English speaking countries.

    Your observation of parents hurrying back into the work force is well noted, it is a sad fact that parents have to work hard in order to provide their children with the best opportunities possible. It may be rather far reaching for you to even consider the possibility that parents do not actually want to leave their children behind with another – however, in the working culture that is prevalent today’s societies, it is a necessity that manifests across the world, not just in Hong Kong.

    I haven’t the time nor the desire to read the rest of this blog but I shall leave you with a question, if I may be so bold – if you hate Hong Kong and its culture with such a passion, why are you still there? You, unlike the “slaves” of Hong Kong, can exercise free will and choice. My apologies in advance for my unhelpful sarcasm.

  9. So many words…so little said

  10. Dewey says:

    @ HWLC87,

    I enjoyed reading your little essay there. You write very well and I’m glad you gave credit to your ancient colonial masters..

    Ahh.. life was certainly better pre-1997, wasn’t it? These dirty mainlanders just had to ruin everything!

    Seriously now, it really is time for the ostrich to take it’s head out of the sand – and smell the bullshit.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Dewey, what a convoluted, makes no common sense statement. What do you actually mean to say? Listen to me, I’ve lived in this stinking shit hole for over 12yrs now. Hate the place. Hate the locals most. Cunt of a shit head dumb race of shits to put it mildly. Ahh I waste my breath on fools. Travel and see other cultures and you will know what chinese really are like. Scum!

  12. Lau says:

    Most honkies dislike using their brains, rent-seeking excepted.
    Great site. Will keep reading…

  13. The story about the maid assaulted by Nigerians got to me… how cold is that owner?? Sadly I lived here too long to know it is possible for HK people to think like that, as selfish and inhumane as it seems.

    Yes, the hiring of maids is actually unnecessary. And I find that the degree of reliance people have on maids is astounding. Children surely do not benefit from this better-than-thou treatment of their “helpers” – kicking off of their shoes, getting served/fed, washed, pampered to a T the minute they come home (I have seen this first hand in most homes I go to tutor over a period of 5 years, so I think it is ok to assume this is somewhat the norm?).

    The worst thing is the treatment of the maids – yes, there are exceptions where employers are kind and decent, but I have also seen a handful of those who were abusive. Over the years, I realize people get a kick out of bullying those who are “at a lower rank” than them, and it is upsetting to see.

Leave a Reply

